Things thing

3 May

From Facebook 2009.  So things have changed, sadly most have not.

1.  I believe that if Don Harman only knew me, we would be BFF.

2.  I love where I live–Martini Corner.  It’s like the mother ship calling me home.  I love my big front porch.  I’m spoiled by my fun landlord who has great friends and, if I’m good, he will do his yard work with his shirt off.  Thanks for that Jim.  You may never get rid of me.

3.  At the most random places, people will approach me to tell me they swear we had met previously but I never know them.  Most recently the toll taker at the Wellington exit and a barista at the Emporia Starbucks thought they knew me.   This is very odd.

4.  I really don’t like kids.  And I don’t have to.

5.  I hire someone to clean my house.  I do this and don’t feel guilty.

6.  I saw a guy for a few months that failed to mention he was a married and a Southern Baptist Pastor.

He found out the jig was up when I went to church–his church–on Easter Sunday.

I don’t like being lied to.  Southern Baptists don’t like adultery.  Urich Baptist Church didn’t like having to find a new pastor.

I guess we all learned a lesson.

6.5  I love telling the Pastor story.

7.    I’m taking steps to start a non-profit organization.  The fear of having a big dream but not knowing if I will be able to accomplish it, paralyzes me.

8.  Of all the people I’ve ever met, Shaun Kibbe is the kindest person I’ll ever know.  Nicole Jacobs is the most peaceful.  I’m waiting for them to pass on their secret.

9.  I’m tired of hearing how teachers should get paid more.  I was a teacher, I earned step raises and had every holiday, every spring, fall, winter break off, not to mention summer.  If you haven’t noticed, social workers work year around.  And, we have to deal with attorneys.

10.  My best friend from college, Tanya (in ABQ) called Marianne (in OPKS) to let her know my mom died.  Because of that conversation, I found out that two of my closest friends are first cousins.  I had been friends with both of them for years but never made the connection.

11.  I know I’m fat but if you only got to know me you would learn that I’m also sarcastic, angry & opinionated.  People should really become more creative with their insults.  Look deeper.

12.  Sometimes I wonder if the root of all social issues is just selfishness.

13.  Life began when I went to college.  I love my little alma mater that is no more.  I love the people I met there, even Jarad.  Sometimes I still miss it.

14.  I love to follow politics and if I had to do it all again, I would look into this as a career.  I feel the need to lobby for something.

15.  A few years ago I did a couple guest spots as Dr. Lisa on a morning talk radio show with Randy Miller.  The fear of being live on the radio is not like any fear I want to experience again yet I’m flattered I had the opportunity.

16.  I admire people who make hard choices to live the life they are meant to live & aren’t afraid of going against public opinion.  There is more than one way to love, to marry, to parent.  I love debates and opinions but don’t trust people with over-the-top political, religious, personal views that they try to shove down your throat.  I think they’re probably hiding something.

17.  If I don’t read the Sunday paper, my week will feel out of whack.

18.  I’m proud to be part of a sibling group of five that all graduated from college.

19.  I have a feeling that I will look back on this current era in my life and consider it “the good old days”.

20.  When I talk to my dad, he tells me to ‘be good’.  It’s like he knows.

21.  I think that if you’re mad because you’re no longer able to have the lifestyle you’ve become accustomed to, then maybe you should have earned it yourself.

22.  “Down with the Sickness” by Disturbed motivates me.  I’m a firm believer that everyone should get up, come on, get down with the sickness.

23.  I love to make people laugh.  The last thing my mom wrote to me was in a Christmas card that said, “Thanks for all you do, especially when you make us laugh.”  It means the world to me.

24.  I was a foster parent when I was 25 for a kid who was on my caseload.  He was 13 and had been in over 40 placements.  His story tugged at my heart.  He lived with me for about a year.  It was the hardest thing I ever did.  He was the only one in his family to graduate from high school & I was super proud to be at his graduation.  He’s 26 now, living in NJ & we still keep in touch.

25.  I agree that crack is whack.

2 Responses to “Things thing”

  1. Jeeper May 3, 2011 at 3:57 AM #

    This is better than reading a book because reading this blog entry not only made me cry, laugh and reflect but, I’m friends with the author. Oh, and the most surprising thing to me about #6 is, ‘You went to a Baptist church on Easter?!’ LOL.
    Jeeper

  2. Darcy July 22, 2011 at 12:41 PM #

    I just stumbled upon your blog by way of Facebook when Heather Hartman liked something you wrote. Heather is funny and has good taste so I usually trust her “like” judgment. I read through several of your blog posts not having any idea “Oh get this…” was written by anyone I knew. I’m not the brightest bulb – there’s an “about me” link at the top of the page that it never occurred to me to click. At any rate; I’m a fan, you are a very witty & talented writer, your brother is one of my favorite people to have gone through school with – he made me laugh daily, and last but not least #8 is correct. Shaun Kibbe is one of the kindest people anyone could meet.

Leave a comment